History

Charlton Horethorne Village Hall stands as a memorial to lives lost in the First World War.   The land on which it is built was obtained from the Digby Estates in 1923 and a wooden building, which had been the Royal Engineers’ Dining Hall at Larkhill Camp, was purchased from the Army Surplus Depot in Yeovil.   This building has been maintained and nurtured ever since and, such is the dedication of past and present Village Hall Trustees, it was awarded “ Hallmark 2” rating in 2010.

Documents relating to the history of Charlton Horethorne Village Hall are held at Somerset Heritage Centre, Brunel Way, Norton Fitzwarren, Taunton TA2 6SF, tel. no. 01823 278805 and cover the period 1922 -2013.   These are available to the public and the reference is A\CVF, accession number M/2546 2013/331.   Full details of the contents of these archives is contained in an appendix to the Minutes of a Meeting of the Charlton Horethorne Village Hall Committee held on 28th October 2013.   A summary of the reference numbers is:  A\CVF/1 – Minutes;  A\CVF/4 – Miscellaneous;  A\CVF/5 – Ashley Family Collection;  A\CVF/6 – 90th Anniversary Celebration Documents.

Comments are closed.